Sunrise over London – Duck and Waffle

As much as a night owl I am, I love sunrises. There’s just something magical in the time between the darkness before dawn, the blush of first light, and the sun in all its glory. I also appreciate the tranquility as most people are still in doors. Which is why I try to make the effort to catch a sunrise in whatever new place I am in. While I was in London, I decided to combine sunrise viewing with breakfast and made a reservation at Duck and Waffle just before sunrise. One good thing about winter is that sunrise is usually at a more manageable time as compared to summer!

Duck and Waffle is a 24-hour restaurant and is located on the 40th floor of the Bishopsgate in central London. Bishopsgate is one of the tallest buildings in London, which means that you get a fantastic view of the sun rising above the city’s skyline. It also means that you can while away the hours of the night with good food and drinks, if you can’t sleep. To get to the 40th floor, you take one of the two express scenic lifts that delivers you to the restaurant in less than a minute, and that is where your skyline experience starts.

ukparis (243)

ukparis (252)

IMG_0652

IMG_0653

IMG_0654

IMG_0656

Despite the early hour, it does fill up fast, therefore, it is advisable to make a reservation as soon as you can, and request for a window seat where you can see the sunrise from your table. I had a table facing East, so it was a very memorable breakfast with the sunrise for company.

I ordered the signature Duck and Waffle and while it didn’t look too impressive, the taste was definitely impressive. Crisp duck confit that was falling off the bone tender, fried duck egg, on top of a fluffy waffle, and mustard maple syrup. A little bit of the syrup went a long way and while I was not too fond of it with the egg, it was lovely with the duck and waffle.

I had a wonderful experience at Duck and Waffle. The wait staff were lovely, attentive without being intrusive. The food was good, and of course, the scenery was magical. It is a little pricey, but I think it was worth the price tag.

Duck and Waffle
110 Bishopsgate, London EC2N 4AY, UK
duckandwaffle.com